The Geulzicht Castle Hotel located in Limburg, Netherlands is for sale at €2.25 Limburg, with Alard Van Der Varst. The castle is surrounded by a park-like garden with many old trees and a private driveway with an access gate and is situated on a plot of 20,158 square meters. The monumental castle is situated on a hill with a truly breathtaking view over the beautiful Geuldal, where the river, the Geul, winds its way through the peaceful and peaceful grounds. The interior of the castle also leaves nothing to be desired in terms of authenticity at a detail level thanks to marble floors, ornamental ceilings, and various fireplaces. The castle has unprecedented possibilities and can be used as an office, hotel, hospitality but also as a residence. This is a unique place to experience peace and nature a short distance from the city and near Valkenburg, Maastricht, and Aachen.
Geulzicht Castle hotel belongs to the youngest generation of castles. It was designed by the Maastricht architect Henri Reek at the end of the nineteenth century and was commissioned by the industrialist Pieter Carel Zuyderhoudt and his wife Fannij van Enthoven, who among others, also owned the small castle of Hofwijck in Voorburg. Zuyderhoudt was born in Batavia in former Dutch East India and was an engineer by profession. In those times it was quite common for the nouveaux-riches among the upper-middle class to build a manor-like country house in a historical style to their taste.
The style of the Geulzicht Castle is English neo-gothic, which gave it its romantic appearance. The building is prominently set against the slope of the Brakkeberg, complete with a drive and entrance gate. The former staff residence and the garage are situated in the immediate surroundings. The marl blocks came from the Brakkeberg and were transported over a narrow-gauge railway to the construction site.
The construction of the castle was completed at the beginning of the last century. As for the interior, there is a large lounge with white marble and a black Namur stone floor. There is a monumental fireplace that is partly decorated with glazen tiles. It has a wainscoted mantelpiece that is draped with a Gobelin tapestry. The walls of the castle have wood paneling. The paintings on the ceiling are by Adrianus Hartigh, who is also known to have several mural paintings in the nearby caves, and portray biblical scenes. Figures from Greek and Roman mythology adorn the brown frieze.
The former library prides itself on its richly carved wooden bookcases. The is a fireplace that is decorated with glazed tiles and has a wainscoted mantelpiece. In this room, you will also find wood paneling on the walls. The dining room has a decorative stucco ceiling. Its white marble mantelpiece rests on four little marble columns. Four rooms have a sunken Roman bath. Originally the castle was built for private occupation. From 1937 onwards, the Weinberg family used the Geulzicht Castle as a hotel. On 10 May 1940, some high German officers and their staff arrived and occupied Hotel Geulzicht Castle, which they made their central command post.
More about this story can be found at: Castleist